Second Orchestra Season 2017 Program 1
Thursday, June 08, 2017
20:30 hrs. Teatro Degollado
Sunday, June 11, 2017
12:30 hrs. Teatro Degollado

Program 1

Günter Neuhold, Guest Conductor
Iván Pérez, Violin
Rolando Fernández, Violoncello
Saúl Ibarra, 

Johann Sebastian BACH, "Little" Fugue in G Minor, BWV 578 (arr. Leopold Stokowski)
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN, Triple Concerto for violin, violoncello and piano in C Major, Op.56 
Soloists: Iván Pérez, violin; Rolando Fernández violoncello; Saúl Ibarra, piano
Johannes BRAHMS, Symphony No.2 in D Major, Op.72

Thursday,June 8th, 8:30 PM
Sunday, June 11th, 12:30 PM
Second Orchestra Season 2017, Teatro Degollado


Once again, the OFJ is offering a program dedicated to the famous "Three Bs" composers of classical music: Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms, a concept that, in earlier versions, has been warmly welcomed by our audience. 

The program opens with the orchestral transcription of a well-known organ work (his first, written in 1707) by Johann Sebastian Bach: the "Little" Fugue in G minor, BWV. 578. The main Stokowski contribution to this masterpiece is his sumptuous orchestration, which will bathe in the brilliant sonorities of our OFJ. 

Next to be presented will be one of the most interesting concert works written by Ludwig van Beethoven. Unfortunately, unlike this maestro`s Piano Concertos or some of his Symphonies, the Triple Concerto for Piano, Violin and Violoncello in C major, Opus 56, is not frequently performed. The history of this score begins with a request by Beethovens piano student, the notable Archduke Rudolf of Austria, who wanted a piece that would show him off favorably as a soloist.  According to the anecdote, the composer was not highly motivated to write this work since his student was not particularly capable; in any case, the resulting concerto, one of the most unusual in the nineteenth-century repertoire, is stupendously well-crafted. Participating in the interpretation of this work will be:  Iván Pérez, one of our concertmasters, on violin, young cellist Rolando Fernández (who is working with us as Guest Principal Cello during this season), and young Jalisco-born pianist Saúl Ibarra, who recently placed fourth in the New York International Piano Festival and Competition. 

The program concludes with another of the great "three Bs", Johannes Brahms, in his Symphony No. 2 in D major, Opus 73, written in 1877 on the shores of Lake Wörth in the town of Pörtschach (Austria). In comparison to the German rigor of the First Symphony, this work seems totally diaphanous, fresh, and luminous, giving it the nickname "Brahms` Pastoral Symphony" for many who have studied the work. 


Austrian conductor Günther Neuhold has been entrusted with the direction of this program. A recent guest of the OFJ, he was honored in 1999 with the Silver Medal of Merit on the part of the Austrian government. 

*Tickets available as of June 2017
*Music Appreciation lectures on Thursday at 7:00 PM and Sunday at 11:00 AM, Free and open to the public
*30% Discounts for students, seniors,teachers, persons with disabilities
*Programming  subject to change without notice