Second Orchestra Season 2017 Program 5
Friday, July 07, 2017
20:30 hrs. Palcco Sala José Pablo Moncayo

Program 5

Marco Parisotto, Music Director
Tambuco, Percusión Ensemble

Silvestre REVUELTASRedes: Suite 
, Danzón no.2

Javier ÁLVAREZ“Metal de Tréboles”, for percussion quartet and orchestra

Aaron COPLANDEl Salón México 

George GERSHWIN, Catfish Row: Symphonic Suite from Porgy and Bess

Friday, July 7th, 8:30 PM, Palcco
Second Orchestra Season, 2017

We welcome back Tambuco, the award-winning Mexican percussion ensemble: Ricardo Gallardo, Alfredo Bringas, Raúl Tudón, and Miguel González, who deserve credit for sharing in our Orchestra´s many triumphs during our recent tour of Germany and Austria.

In this one-and-only concert, to be presented on Friday, July 7th at 8:30 PM, in the "Palacio de la Cultura y la Comunicación" (PALCCO, Zapopan, Jalisco), we include some of the orchestral works that have delighted those discriminating European ears, along with others that were enthusiastically applauded by our own public during our First 2017 Orchestra Season. This same program will be interpreted in its entirety at Davies Symphony Hall en San Francisco, California, in the OFJ´s upcoming tour to California, U.S.A. 

Our first-course offering will be the Symphonic Suite of film music by Silvestre Revueltas, from the movie Redesas compiled by Erich Kleiber. Commentary by famed orchestral conductor Eduardo Mata:

“Redes possesses great autonomous value, apart from the movie. (…) the cinematographic music that Revueltas has composed, in general (…) is quite inferior to his concert compositions, but Redes is the exception. While it functions incredibly well as incidental music, because it perfectly complements the images of Zinnemann´s film and aids and abets dramatically (…) what´s so interesting about Redes are its intrinsic musical values”.

Next, we will interpret one of the most frequently-featured Mexican works in recent decades: the Danzón No. 2 by Arturo Márquez; of this piece, its author comments:

“The idea came to me in 1993 during a trip to Malinalco with the painter Andrés Fonseca and the dancer Irene Martínez, both of whom are experts in ballroom dancing, with a special passion for danzón.  Their enthusiasm was contagious, and it affected me from the beginning and also on later excursions to Veracruz and to the Salón Colonia, which is located in the Colonia Obrera of Mexico City. From these experiences I begin to learn the rhythms, the form, the melodic contours-- as I listen to the old recordings of Acerina y su Danzonera--and in my fascination I realize that the apparent frivolity of the danzón is only a "calling card" for a musical form which is filled with sensuality and qualitative rigor.  The Mexican elderly continue to LIVE the danzón with nostalgia and jubilation, as an escape into their own emotional world. 

Tambuco follows with its own contribution to the program, presenting Metal de tréboles, for four percussionists and orchestra, by the Mexican composer Javier Álvarez. This work was premiered by these same soloists, along with the OFJ, this past March.   The author comments on his work:

“In Metal de tréboles I have looked to create timbral combinations and instrumental gestures within a vast sonic panorama, attempting to articulate an attractive musical discourse that can sustain the tension created in going from one extreme to another--that`s to say, between abstract sounds, reminiscent of nature, and gestures that are closer to the musical pulse”.


The second part of this concert features the music of American composer Aaron Copland, who enjoyed a close relationship with Mexico for many years.  In his various trips to our country, he visited such emblematic places as Mexico City´s most popular 1930s dance hall, prompting him to write El salón México, a kind of musical post card ” in the form of a symphonic poem.  Its melodies include quotes from such well-known pieces as La JesusitaEl moscoEl malacate and El palo verde, and it premiered in Mexico City´s Palacio de Bellas Artes in 1937.

The program concludes with one more work, by Gershwin: The Suite Catfish Row, which contains the main themes from Porgy and Bess, Gershwin`s only opera, written in 1935.  

*Tickets available on Ticketmaster

*Programming  subject to change without notice