Third Season 2018 Program 4
Thursday, October 11, 2018
20:30 hrs. Sala Plácido Domingo, Conjunto de Artes Escénicas de la Universidad de Guadalajara

Program 4

Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco
Marco Parisotto, 
Music Director
Alexéi Volodin, 

Johannes BRAHMS, Concerto no. 1 in d minor for piano and orchestra, op. 15
Soloist: Alexéi Volodin
Symphony no. 2 in C major, op. 61

Sunday, October 11th, 20:30 PM
Third Orchestra Season 2018, Conjunto de Artes Escénicas.


Our special guest for the concert on October 11th is a favorite of the Jalisco public:  Russian pianist Alexéi Volodin, who on this occasion will regale us with his version of the Concerto No.1 for Piano and Orchestra in d minor, Op. 15, by Johannes Brahms.  Regarding this work, musicologist David Ewen asserts that Brahms continues a tradition that had seemed to have finalized in the concertos of Beethoven:  the power and unbridled passion, the treatment of piano and orchestra on the same level, and the architectonic impetus and structural vision.  This work was premiered in 1859 in Hanover, Germany, with the composer at the keyboard.

Brahms was a passionate admirer of the great Robert Schumann, particularly his writing for the piano.  For this reason, Brahms visited Schumann in order to show this esteemed composer his first works.   Schumann, very surprised, praised the young composer from Hamburg in a detailed article that honored him as a promising new talent. 

In this program, the OFJ offers us the Symphony No.2 in C Major, Op. 61, conceived during a period of severe depression and mental anguish for the composer.  Many months of artistic and personal dissatisfaction had elapsed, and Schumann was determined to end—on his own--this spiritual malaise.  The cure?  He began work on a new Symphony.  In September, 1845, he wrote a letter to Mendelssohn, telling him that for various days, his head had been spinning with trumpets and drums in C Major, and hadn’t the faintest idea what would come of it.  The result was the Second Symphony in C Major, whose first public presentation was November 5th, 1846. 

This program will be conducted by Maestro Marco Parisotto, Music Director of the OFJ.  

 *Tickets from $150 to $280 pesos, on sale at the Conjunto de Artes Escénicas box office and through Ticketmaster
*Discounts of 30% for students, teachers, people with special needs and senior citizens
*Music Appreciation lectures, Thursday at 7:00 PM, Lobby of the Conjunto de Artes Escénicas. Free and open to the public!
*Programming subject to change without notice.