Tercera Temporada 2021 Program 3
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
20:30 hrs. Teatro Degollado
Sunday, October 24, 2021
12:30 hrs. Teatro Degollado

 Program 3

Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco
Music Director Jesús Medina 

Marcha Trigarante de los 200 años | CRISTINA GARCÍA ISLAS*
Papalotes (Kites) | GABRIELA ORTIZ
Variaciones Concertantes | GINASTERA 
Divertimento | JACQUES IBERT
Three Ragtimes| SCOTT JOPLIN

*World premiere

The OFJ opens its Third Program of the Third Orchestra Season, 2021, with a World Premiere:  the Marcha Trigarante de los 200 años (200th anniversary “trigarante” march) by a very dynamic composer from Mexico City, Cristina García Islas.  In addition to having won various international prizes in recent years, she was a finalist in the OFJ´s very own composition contest in 2018, the Concurso Nacional Orquestal Jalisco.  The inspiration for her newest composition is an important historic event for this country:  On September 27th, 1821, the Trigarante Army made its triumphal entrance in Mexico City to proclaim an end to the insurgency and the complete independence of Mexico.  Almost a second Independence Day, this 200th Anniversary!  Fireworks, please!  At the OFJ, we´ll keep celebrating it with the Marcha Trigarante de los 200 años.


Coming up next, we´ll listen to Papalotes (kites), written in 2012 for chamber orchestra by a Mexican female composer with a very distinguished background, Gabriela Ortiz.  This composition gives the whole orchestra an opportunity to fly, especially certain members of our woodwind section…


The Variaciones Concertantes (Concert Variations, 1953) of renowned twentieth-century Argentinian composer Alberto Ginastera, allows various members of our orchestra the chance to be soloists, with breathtaking results.  In the words of its author, “These variations have a subjective Argentinian character.  Rather than utilizing folkloric material, I work to achieve an Argentinian atmosphere through the deployment of my own thematic and rhythmic elements.  The work begins with an original theme, followed by eleven variations, each one reflecting the distinctive character of the instrument protagonizing it.  All of the instruments in the orchestra are treated as soloists.”


What follows is fun in French, literally!  Divertissement (we call it Divertimiento in Spanish), by French composer Jacques Ibert, was born in a theatre pit as incidental music for a hilarious French farce, An Italian Straw Hat.  Later, Ibert turned that music into a Suite, which premiered on November 30th, 1930 in Paris.  Six short movements overflowing with ingenuity and humor!


To finalize our program, we turn to the King of Ragtime, Scott Joplin, with three of his most endearing and enduring Ragtime compositions.  What is Ragtime?  A popular African-American music style from the turn-of-the-(previous!)-century with a very syncopated melody riding on a rhythmically stable bass line; it is considered the precursor of Jazz.  The three Ragtime numbers that we will hear are:  The Easy Winners (1901), Maple Leaf Rag (1899), and Ragtime Dance (1899).   We´ll need to try hard not to tap our feet to these tunes!

Wednesday, October 20th, 8:30 PM
Sunday, October 24th, 12:30 PM
Third Orchestra Season 2021, Teatro Degollado

*Tickets ranging from $90 to $250 pesos, available at the Teatro Degollado Box Office and through the Ticketmaster system.